Clubs and Activities

  • Academic Challenge (ACES)

    The Jacobs Academic Challenge Club is an academic team comprised of 14 students chosen by teacher recommendation. Top students in honors or AP classes take tests at competition sites at the regional, sectional, and state level. The subject areas include Biology, Chemistry, Computers, English, Engineering Graphics, Math, and Physics. The team is formed in October, and tests are given in February, March, and April.  

    Sponsor: Phil Timm Phillip.Timm@d300.org

    Sponsor: Renita Rasmus Renita.Rasmus@d300.org

     

    Art Club

    Art Club is a student-run organization that seeks to provide members with studio time, projects, activities, and community service all in relationship to art. Art Club supplies students with an open environment to continue to learn about, experience, and appreciate art as well and build positive peer relationships with others interested in visual art.  

    Sponsor: Kristen Hilton Kristen.Hilton@d300.org

     

    Bass Choir

    This choir is just for Tenors and Basses that love to sing! Come on by!

    Sponsor: Jennifer Parker Jennifer.Parker@d300.org

     

    Black Youth Alliance

    This club provides our Black students a safe place to come together, be themselves, and learn about Black culture and history. This is done among our Jacobs community and through outside speakers. We will talk about current issues and events and work through any feelings that come up. Finally, this club is an environment that builds friendship and community among other Black students.

    A note to any White students and students of color who would like to attend:

    We welcome you with open arms and ask that come in with an open mind. Please realize YOUR importance in helping end racism and prejudice by knowing and understanding what it means to be an true to your Black friends and families.

    Sponsor: Jeff Krepel Jeffrey.Krepel@d300.org

     

    Book Club

    The High School Book Club will meet virtually once a month. Our list of books comes from the Read for a Lifetime program presented by the Illinois Secretary of State's office and the Illinois Center of the Book. The choices are listed on the "schedule" tab of the book club PowerSchool Learning page. Join us for our first meeting on Wednesday, September 23 where we will be choosing our first book!

    Sponsor: Allison Lichtenheld Allison.Lichtenheld@d300.org

     

    Chess Club

    Chess Club provides a fun and welcoming environment where students learn about and play chess. All skill levels are welcome, including novices! We continue to add new activities to our club, providing leadership opportunities and ways to engage our community in the strategic and stimulating game of chess!

    Sponsor: Lora Springings Lora.Springings@d300.org

     

    Debate

    Harry D. Jacobs High School has a proud tradition of debate. Jacobs was a founding member of the Illinois Congressional Debaters Association which got its start over 25 years ago. The debate season runs from August to March and over 500 debaters compete at monthly tournaments. In addition to monthly tournaments, team members may have the chance to participate in the Illinois High School Association State Debate Tournament held in Springfield, Illinois, and have the opportunity to participate in a special qualifying tournament for the National Speech and Debate Association National Tournament which is held annually at various locations around the country. During the month leading up to each tournament, debate team members meet weekly to write a current event bill (topic), review the bills, research the topics, practice speaking, and discuss tournament strategy. At the tournament, team members participate in a simulated Congress chamber of approximately 20-25 people by delivering persuasive PRO or CON speeches and by asking and answering questions. The speeches and questions are scored by judges and individual and team awards are given at the end of each tournament. While informative, no words can truly describe the experience of being part of the Jacobs High School Debate Team. Please visit www.d300debate.org for more information.

    Sponsor: Ryan Andersen Ryan.Andersen@d300.org

     

    Drama Club

    Drama Club meetings consist of theatre and improv games, learning about theatre, and hanging out with other students. It provides a safe space to be yourself, watch others perform, and even get up onstage yourself if you would like. You will learn about acting and auditioning, improvisation games, technical theatre, and anything else theatre related.

    Sponsor: Adam Stromberg Adam.Stromberg@d300.org

     

    Eagle Minds Matter

    Eagle Minds Matter focuses on ending the stigma/discrimination surrounding mental health and bringing awareness to mental health culture in schools and communities. Through group activities, the club encourages students at Jacobs to seek help when needed and promotes social connectedness and the development of healthy habits. The club, which began in 2019 and has grown to over 50 members, also raises money for national/global mental health education and research and participates in community volunteering events. This club is open to anyone interested in learning about mental wellness and healthcare, giving back, and having fun.

    Sponsor: Conrad Rogers Conrad.Rogers@d300.org

     

    Film Club

    The purpose of Film Club is to bring students together that appreciate the artform of film. Students will view and discuss movies that are to be determined by the club.

    Sponsor: Ryan Anderson ryan.anderson@d300.org 

     

    French Club

    French Club is a service organization that celebrates and shows appreciation for the French language and culture through planned social events and community service projects.

    Sponsor: TBD

       

    Genders & Sexualities Alliance (GSA)

    The Gender & Sexuality Alliance is a safe space for LGBTQ+ and allies to meet and discuss current events, learn about past events and successors of the LGBTQ movement, and make lasting friendships. This year we will continue to discuss issues impacting LGBTQ students in school, dynamics of relationships, coming out, gender fluidity, and any other topic students bring to the table. If you are interested, all I ask is that you come in with an open mind and open heart and celebrate our diversity.

    Sponsor: Jeff Krepel Jeffery.Krepel@d300.org

      

    Graphic Design Club

    Members of the Graphic Design Club will discover and express their personal voice by designing posters, logos, and graphics. Through small projects, club members will explore essential topics such as color theory, typography, and design fundamentals, as well as specific areas like the logo creation process.

    Sponsor: Brad Unterberger Bradley.Unterberger@d300.org

     

    Green Eagles

    We strive to make the world a greener, more eco-friendly and eco-conscious place, starting with our school.  Our mission is to spread green ideas and practices not only to our school, but to the surrounding community. 

    Sponsor: Caitlin Brown Caitlin.Brown@d300.org 

    Sponsor: Michael Vroman Michael.Vroman@d300.org  

    Sponsor: Lora Sprigings Lora.Sprigings@d300.org

      

    Interact

    Interact is a Rotary-sponsored club that helps students get more involved with the community. It allows students to get community service hours by participating in events sponsored by Interact within the community.

    Sponsor: Kim Barone Kim.Barone@d300.org

    Sponsor: Jeff Davis Jeffery.Davis@d300.org

     

    Key Club

    Key Club is a student-led service organization focused on helping young people! We have a board composed of Jacobs students. They run the meetings and work with the rest of our members to plan service activities that are fun and helpful.

    Sponsor: Marge Barilich Margaret.Barilich@d300.org

     

    Marching Band

    The Golden Eagle Marching Band is a competitive performance ensemble that performs at all home football games, local parades and 4-5 competitions throughout the fall season. The band has won over 35 awards since becoming competitive back in 2011. The band is open to any student musicians who are also enrolled in a curricular ensemble within the Jacobs Music Department with the exception piano players and color guard members.

    Sponsor: Anthony Gnutek Anthony.Gnutek@d300.org

     

    Math Team

    Math team is a math-based competitive club. Members can compete in a variety of individual tests including Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2 and Precalculus. In addition to the individual tests, members can compete in team competitions including the Freshman/Sophomore 2 person team or Junior/Senior 2 person team which is a relay event with questions posted on a Smartboard or overhead and additional points awarded for answering in the shortest amount of time. Team competitions also include a Freshman/Sophomore and Junior/Senior 8 person competition where teams consist of 8 people working on 20 different math questions together without the use of calculators and a calculator team which consists of 5 members working on problems that only require the calculator. We compete in the conference competition in January and the regional competition in February where members can qualify for the state competition in May.

    Sponsor: Megan Placko megan.placko@d300.org

    Sponsor: Amy Aichinger amy.aichinger@d300.org

    Sponsor: Betsy Schlimgen betsy.schlimgen@d300.org

      

    National Honors Society

    Recognizes students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Potential members are selected for membership in NHS as sophomores or juniors so that they are members during junior and/or senior years. Members must maintain high academic standards, character, leadership, and participate in community service.

    Sponsor: Leigh Adler Leigh.Adler@d300.org 

    Sponsor: Lexi Policht Alexia.Policht@d300.org

      

    Peer Mediation

    Peer Mediation is a conflict resolution program that promotes solving problems in a peaceful manner. Mediation is a communication process in which the people with the problem work together with the assistance of a neutral third party (mediator/mediators) to resolve the problem peaceably. It is open to all students interested in helping peers resolve conflicts. Students learn the steps of the mediation process.

    Sponsor: Kim Barone Kim.Barone@d300.org

     

    Photography Club

    The Photography Club encourages students to share artistic ideas and creative techniques through photography. This club also helps students improve their photography skills.

    Sponsor:  Madeline Richmond Madeline.Richmond@d300.org

      

    Robotics Club

    Jacobs Robotics Club provides opportunities for students to experience all aspects of robotics engineering. Students design, build, and program robots by using resources in a collaborative, fun, and unique way while meeting new friends.

    Sponsor: Fernando Medina Fernando.Medina@d300.org

     

    Scholastic Bowl

    JV and Varsity level academic competition team of 5 members each. These teams play against other schools in a game similar to any TV game show in which a question is asked and teams must BUZZ in. Points are accumulated for each correct answer for the team. Typically meets in the fall and winter after school on Tuesday nights sometimes till 8 pm.  

    Sponsor: Phil Timm Phillip.Timm@d300.org

     

    Spanish Club

    Spanish Club is a service club that celebrates the culture of Spanish speaking countries. Some of our favorite events include participating in Homecoming, a trip to Ballet Folklorico, celebrating El Día de los Muertos, Christmas caroling, making Valentines, volunteering at Feed My Starving Children, planning World Language Week activities, and a trip to a local Mexican restaurant. You do NOT need to speak Spanish to join Spanish Club!!!

    Sponsor: Char Nottolini Charlene.Nottolini@d300.org

     

    Student Council

    We promote student involvement and school spirit by creating well rounded individuals through teamwork and service to the community. We coordinate Homecoming week, Adopt-A-Family, and Mr. HDJ., along with many other activities. Aside from specific events, we advocate leadership and excellence not only in school, but through the lives we lead. 

    Sponsor Big Council: Bridget Drzik Bridget.Drzik@d300.org

    Sponsor Big Council: Michele Sanabria Michele.Sanabria@d300.org

    Sponsor Freshmen Class: Sally Stricker Sally.Stricker@d300.org

    Sponsor Sophomore Class: Samantha Bartels Samantha.Bartels@d300.org 

    Sponsor Junior Class: Kelly Zoellner Kelly.Zoellner@d300.org 

    Sponsor Junior Class: Brittany Swanson Brittany.Swanson@d300.org

    Sponsor Senior Class: Marge Barilichi Margaret.Barlich@d300.org

     

    Student Voices Council

    Student Voices is a political advocacy club that provides a space for respectful dialogue about current events and political topics at the local, state, and national level. The goal of the club is to shape students into informed citizens and encourage civic engagement in the community. All students are welcome to attend!

    Sponsor: Steve Wallace Steven.Wallace@d300.org 

    Sponsor: Steve Stuckenberg Steven.Stukenberg@d300.org

     

    Tri-M Music Honor Society

    Tri-M is designed to recognize students for their academic and musical achievements, reward them for their accomplishments and service activities, and to inspire other students to excel at music and leadership.

    Sponsor: Terry Foster Terry.Foster@d300.org

     

    Yearbook Club

    Yearbook Club is comprised of yearbook editors and contributing photographers. To become an editor, a student needs to take Yearbook Publications class.

    Sponsor: Tiffany Goodman Tiffany.Goodman@d300.org