Clubs and Activities

    • Art Club

      Sponsor: Kristen Hilton kristen.hilton@d300.org

      Art Club is a student run organization that seeks to provide members with studio time, projects, activities, and community service all in relationship to art. Art Club supplies students with an open environment to continue to learn about, experience, and appreciate art as well and build positive peer relationships with others interested in visual art.   

       

      Chess Club

      Sponsor: Lora Sprigings lora.sprigings@d300.org

      Chess Club provides a fun and welcoming environment where students learn about and play chess. All skill levels are welcome, including novices! We continue to add new activities to our club, providing leadership opportunities and ways to engage our community in the strategic and stimulating game of chess!

       

      Drama Club

      Sponsor: Dave McGill david.mcgill@d300.org

      Sponsor: Adam Stromberg adam.stromberg@d300.org

      Sponsor: Kristen Zehrer kristen.zehrer@d300.org

      Drama Club meetings consist of theatre and improv games, learning about theatre, and hanging out with other students. It provides a safe space to be yourself, watch others perform, and even get up onstage yourself if you would like. You will learn about acting and auditioning, improvisation games, technical theatre, and anything else theatre related. 

       

      Film Club

      Sponsor:  Ryan Anderson ryan.anderson@d300.org

      The purpose of Film Club is to bring students together that appreciate the artform of film. Students will view and discuss movies that are to be determined by the club.

       

      French Club

      Sponsor: Stacy Pollack stacy.pollack@d300.org

      French Club is a service organization that celebrates and shows appreciation for the French language and culture through planned social events and community service projects.

       

      Future Healthcare Leaders

      Sponsor: Conrad Rogers conrad.rogers@d300.org

      The Future Healthcare Leaders Club strives to provide information to students about what it is like to work in various areas of the medical field. We invite speakers to discuss the roles they play in the field as well as participate in volunteer projects and labs.

       

      Gaming Club

      Sponsor: Pierre Thorsen pierre.thorsen@d300.org

      The Gaming Club offers students an opportunity to enjoy fellowship with each other while playing video and board games. Students can choose to bring games or gaming systems of their choice or choose among the games already present. X-box, Wii, Game Cube are just a few of the systems students have brought and played. To challenge students' intellectual and diplomatic skills, games such as Civilization, Diplomacy, Risk, Settlers of Catan and other strategic games are played each week. The Gaming Club welcomes any students who would like to come and spend time in a relaxed and entertaining atmosphere.

       

      Gay-Straight Alliance Club

      Sponsor: Varvara Pandi varvara.pandi@d300.org

      The HDJ Gay-Straight Alliance Club brings students together to raise awareness for LGBTQ rights, and weave a safe haven for all.

       

      German Club

      Sponsor: Mireia Cabrera-Colomer mireia.cabreracolome@d300.org

      German club is a community service club. We do a lot of fun and cultural activities (e.g. caroling, Oktoberfest, German restaurant...). The best part of German club is that you do not need to speak the language! Just come and learn more about the German culture.

       

      Green Eagles

      Sponsor: Bob Frazier robert.fraizer@d300.org

      Sponsor: Sarah Kapitan sarah.kapitan@d300.org

      Sponsor: Lora Sprigings lora.sprigings@d300.org

      We strive to make the world a greener, more eco-friendly and eco-conscious place, starting with our school. Our mission is to spread green ideas and practices not only to our school, but to the surrounding community.  

       

      Illinois Science Olympiad

      Sponsor: Chris Keller christopher.keller@d300.org

      Illinois Science Olympiad is a science-based competition club. Similar to math team, ISO has a lot of different events at a single meet, allowing students to compete in topics like Thermodynamics, Anatomy, Chemistry, Forensics, and many more. The events range from being multiple choice and free response tests to actual build events, like building a tower, a robot arm, or a mousetrap powered car. 

       

      Interact

      Sponsor: Kim Barone kim.barone@d300.org

      Sponsor: Jeff Davis jeffery.davis@d300.org

      Interact is a Rotary-sponsored club that helps students get more involved with the community. It allows students to get community service hours by participating in events sponsored by Interact within the community.

       

      Knitting Club

      Sponsor: Beth Biallas bethany.biallas@d300.org

      The mission of Knitting Club is to "give away everything we produce, and to make the world a warmer place"---scarves to the homeless; hats to chemo patients; blankets to neonatal hospital units and retirement communities. The club supplies beginners with yarn and knitting needles.  Come join us in serving the HDJ and surrounding communities.

       

      Key Club

      Sponsor: Jenna Moller jenna.moller@d300.org

      Key Club is a student-led service organization focused on helping young people! We have a board composed of Jacobs students. They run the meetings and work with the rest of our members to plan service activities that are fun and helpful.

       

      Marching Band

      Sponsor: Anthony Gnutek anthony.gnutek@d300.org

      The Golden Eagle Marching Band is a competitive performance ensemble that performs at all home football games, local parades and 4-5 competitions throughout the fall season. The band has won over 35 awards since becoming competitive back in 2011. The band is open to any student musicians who are also enrolled in a curricular ensemble within the Jacobs Music Department with the exception piano players and color guard members.

       

      Math Team

      Sponsor: Amy Aichinger amy.aichinger@d300.org

      Sponsor: Brittany Gannon brittany.gannon@d300.org

      Sponsor: Megan Placko megan.placko@d300.org

      Sponsor: Betsy Schlimgen betsy.schlimgen@d300.org

      Math team is a math-based competitive club. Members can compete in a variety of individual tests including Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2 and Precalculus. In addition to the individual tests, members can compete in team competitions including the Freshman/Sophomore 2 person team or Junior/Senior 2 person team which is a relay event with questions posted on a Smartboard or overhead and additional points awarded for answering in the shortest amount of time. Team competitions also include a Freshman/Sophomore and Junior/Senior 8 person competition where teams consist of 8 people working on 20 different math questions together without the use of calculators and a calculator team which consists of 5 members working on problems that only require the calculator. We compete in the conference competition in January and the regional competition in February where members can qualify for the state competition in May. 

       

      Model UN

      Sponsor: Conrad Rogers conrad.rogers@d300.org

      Simulates the proceedings of the  United Nations, including discussing global issues and collaborating to find possible solutions to those problems.

       

      Multicultural Club

      Sponsor: Shawn Mitchum shawn.mitchum@d300.org

      Sponsor: Hugo Zarate hugo.zaratejr@d300.org

      The HDJ Multicultural club strives to foster unity through diversity. We do this at our monthly meetings by hosting guest speakers, playing games, and having fun! All are welcome to join and learn about how diversity makes our community stronger.

       

      Music Industry Club

      Sponsor: Eric Billittier eric.billittier@d300.org ​

      The Music Industry Club is devoted to teaching students about the three main branches of the music business — Promotion, Production, and Performance —as well as organizing performances open to club members and all other students wishing to share their talents with their classmates.​

       

      National Honors Society

      Sponsor: Leigh Adler leigh.adler@d300.org  

      Sponsor: Lexi Policht alexia.policht@d300.org

      Recognizes students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Potential members are selected for membership in NHS as sophomores or juniors so that they are members during junior and/or senior years. Members must maintain high academic standards, character, leadership, and participate in community service. 

       

      Newspaper - The Talon

      Sponsor: Kellie Gaspers kellie.gaspers@d300.org

      The Talon editors work together to create HDJ's school newspaper. The job of a Talon editor is to write articles for the newspaper, review articles from the Journalism classes, take pictures at school events, and develop the layout of each issue of the Talon.   

       

      Peer Mediation

      Sponsor: Kim Barone kim.barone@d300.org

      Peer Mediation is a conflict resolution program that promotes solving problems in a peaceful manner. Mediation is a communication process in which the people with the problem work together with the assistance of a neutral third party (mediator/mediators) to resolve the problem peaceably. It is open to all students interested in helping peers resolve conflicts. Students learn the steps of the mediation process.

       

      Relay For Life

      Sponsor: Kellie Gaspers kellie.gaspers@d300.org

      Sponsor: Kristin Kronberg kristin.kronberg@d300.org

      Relay for Life is a service club that raises money for cancer research. It's a great opportunity to learn about fundraising, and gain some leadership experience to put on your resume. It's also a lot of fun, and a chance to meet some new and different people!

       

      Scholastic Bowl

      Sponsor: Phil Timm phillip.timm@d300.org

      JV and Varsity level academic competition team of 5 members each. These teams play against other schools in a game similar to any TV game show in which a question is asked and teams must BUZZ in. Points are accumulated for each correct answer for the team. Typically meets in the fall and winter after school on Tuesday nights sometimes till 8 pm.  

       

      Spanish Club

      Sponsor: Sarah Kapitan sarah.kapitan@d300.org

      Sponsor: Emma Francke emily.francke@d300.org

      Spanish Club is a service club that celebrates the culture of Spanish speaking countries. Some of our favorite events include participating in Homecoming, a trip to Ballet Folklorico, celebrating El Día de los Muertos, Christmas caroling, making Valentines, volunteering at Feed My Starving Children, planning World Language Week activities, and a trip to a local Mexican restaurant. You do NOT need to speak Spanish to join Spanish Club!!! 

       

      Student Council

      Sponsor: Katie O’Brien kathryn.obrien@d300.org

      Sponsor: Emma Francke emily.francke@d300.org

      We promote student involvement and school spirit by creating well rounded individuals through teamwork and service to the community. We coordinate Homecoming week, Adopt-A-Family, and Mr. HDJ., along with many other activities. Aside from specific events, we advocate leadership and excellence not only in school, but through the lives we lead.  

       

      WYSE

      Sponsor: Phil Timm phillip.timm@d300.org

      Sponsor: Renita Rasmus renita.rasmus@d300.org

      The Jacobs W.Y.S.E (Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering) Club is an academic team comprised of 14 students chosen by teacher recommendation. Top students in honors or AP classes take tests at competition sites at the regional, sectional, and state level. The subject areas include Biology, Chemistry, Computers, English, Engineering Graphics, Math, and Physics. The team is formed in October, and tests are given in February, March, and April.